Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (2024)

If you're looking to compete in Fortnite Ranked play, it's important to understand how things work including the modes you can use and how to rank up.

After years of waiting, Epic Games finally added a proper competitive mode to Fortnite with Ranked play in Chapter 4: Season 3. This mode is still going strong, letting dedicated loopers test their mettle against other players who want to become the very best.

What is Ranked mode?

Fortnite's Ranked mode adds a competitive twist to the regular Battle Royale mode we all know and love. Each player has a rank (ranging from Bronze to Unreal) that can be increased by performing well in a match.

You'll be placed against other players who are in the same rank as you, so if you're just starting out, you should find yourself against easier opponents. As you rank up, the competition will hear up alongside you!

Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (1)

Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (2)Click to enlarge

Some weapons or items will also be removed from Ranked mode to ensure a fair environment - although this is constantly changing with each season's loot pool so make sure you keep up with the latest announcements.

All ranks you can achieve

Here are all of the ranks available in Fortnite Ranked mode in the order that you'll achieve them:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Elite
  • Champion
  • Unreal

Each rank from Bronze through Diamond has three levels you must climb through to advance to the next rank - but Elite, Champion, and Unreal are their own singular ranks.

Fortnite players who manage to reach Unreal will keep their Unreal status for the duration of that season. No matter what, Unreal players will not revert to a lower rank. That doesn't mean you're done though!

After reaching Unreal, you'll receive a number signifying your standing among all other Fortnite players who have reached Unreal rank. Continue excelling in Ranked matches to raise your number and climb the Unreal leaderboard.

All modes that can be played in Ranked

Fortnite Ranked can be played in either Battle Royale or Zero Build, with the following modes available:

Battle Royale

  • Solo
  • Duo
  • Trio
  • Squad

Zero Build

  • Solo
  • Duo
  • Squad

You'll have separate rankings for Battle Royale and Zero Build, so it's a good idea to pick a mode and stick with it to make the most of your progress.

How to rank up in Fortnite Ranked

Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (5)

Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (6)Click to enlarge

Where you begin your Ranked Play journey in Fortnite depends largely on your past match performance. You will receive your rank after only a single match of Ranked Battle Royale or Ranked Zero Build.

Once you get your rank, you can view your current rank and a progress bar displaying how close or far you are from the next rank on the left-hand side of the screen while you are in the Ranked Play Lobby.

Ranking up in Fortnite Ranked takes into account the following factors:

  • Your match placement
  • How many eliminations you/your team secured in the match (eliminations later in the match count more than eliminations earlier in the match)
  • The ranks of the players you/your team eliminated in the match

In Fortnite Ranked, you win with your team and lose with your team. All squad members will gain and lose progress equally based on the team's overall performance - so be careful who you squad up with!

The highest-ranked player on the team will determine the team's rank, which plays a role in matchmaking. For example, if your rank is Bronze but your teammate is Gold, then your team will be matched against Gold rank opponents.

Fortnite Ranked rules

Ranked play features a unique ruleset separate from non-Ranked matches. Below are the main differences between Ranked and unranked matches:

  • Material caps decreased from 999 to 500
  • Harvesting rates slightly increased
  • Players drop 50 of each material when they are eliminated

Also, if you're new to Fortnite, you must outlast 500 opponents before you can hop into Ranked mode.

Ranked quests & rewards

Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (7)

Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (8)Click to enlarge

It's not just bragging rights on offer in Fortnite's Ranked mode - you can also unlock exclusive cosmetic rewards by completing quests!

Every match of Ranked, you get a new Ranked Urgent Quest. You will receive exclusive rewards periodically by completing Ranked Urgent Quests. You'll also get rewards for simply surviving Storm Circles in Ranked.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Get exclusive news, content, and discounts sent directly to your inbox

You've joined our newsletter. Thank you!

Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the newsletter.

Terms and conditions apply

That's everything you need to know about Ranked mode! While you're here, visit our Fortnite homepage for more guides like how to level up fast, the latest weekly quests, and all of the free skins you can unlock.

Fortnite Ranked mode explained, ruleset & how to rank up (2024)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Rev. Porsche Oberbrunner

Last Updated:

Views: 5908

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (53 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rev. Porsche Oberbrunner

Birthday: 1994-06-25

Address: Suite 153 582 Lubowitz Walks, Port Alfredoborough, IN 72879-2838

Phone: +128413562823324

Job: IT Strategist

Hobby: Video gaming, Basketball, Web surfing, Book restoration, Jogging, Shooting, Fishing

Introduction: My name is Rev. Porsche Oberbrunner, I am a zany, graceful, talented, witty, determined, shiny, enchanting person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.